The Demon Queen is My Fiancée Chapter Seven

“So, how many slimes are we supposed to kill to complete the quest?” I ask Odelina.

“We need to kill ten slimes. Oh, we’re here!”

We’ve just arrived at the Beginner’s Forest. It’s just a big forest. There isn’t anything special about it. Well, whatever. It is just a few minutes away from the capital city. I can actually still see the palace from where I’m at right now.

“All right, let’s kill some slimes!” Lorelei says happily.

“No, shouldn’t it just be me killing slimes since I need to gain experience in battle?”

“Oh, yeah. Right, that’s what we’re doing.”

We walk into the forest, only to be greeted by a small, blue slime. Let’s appraise it.

[Name: Water Slime]

[Age: 3 days]

[Level: 2]

“Here’s one. I’m going to try and fight it.” I say, taking my short sword out of its sheath.

I hold my weapon in right hand, and ready my left for blocking. Rushing towards the slime, I thrust my sword forwards creating a gust of wind, but it’s dodged by the slime. Does this slime have higher agility than me?! But my agility is at 30!

Tch, stupid slime! I rush towards the slime once more, this time swinging the sword from the right. This time, the gust of wind is stronger than before. It dodged it again! Is this thing a spider?!

Okay, so single attacks won’t work against a slime, so let’s try a combo attack. I rush towards the slime for a third time, swinging my sword straight down, only to have the slime dodge it again. This time, I don’t just stop moving, but move my sword diagonally towards the left, piercing the slime and killing it.

[Skill Learned: Sword Skills Level 1]

Oh, I got a skill. That’s nice.

“He had so much trouble with a slime.” Odelina says, sending a saddened gaze towards me.

“I’ve never had training in battle, okay! This is my first time even holding a sword!”

“Wait, is that true?” Lorelei asks.

“Yeah, I’ve never had any training or anything in sword play. Why?”

“That’s incredible! To have never held a sword and still kill a slime! Normally it takes some experience with swords to kill a slime because of their agility. They’re normally low risk targets because they can’t attack, but they’re still tough to hit.”

Oh, I did something impressive? Well, now I at least know how to kill those annoying slimes.

We continue on into the forest, killing blue slimes and collecting their nucleus until we have eight collected.

“Hey, why can’t we find any more slimes?” I ask the other companions of my party.

Adelicia is still just reading her books like always, not wanting to talk about anything. She really likes books, doesn’t she?

“There’s probably some larger monster that are scaring away the slimes. Could be an orc or ogre.” Adelicia replies to my question.

“That would be pretty bad, right? We definitely shouldn’t fight something like that.” I say to the three.

“Yeah, we should probably head out for now, it could be something even worse than those guys. We definitely don’t want to be a part of whatever shows up wanting to fight.” Lorelei says worriedly.

We get up to start walking away, when all of the sudden, we hear a loud, monstrous howl behind us.

Previous Chapter|ToC|Next Chapter

Leave a comment