The Demon Queen is My Fiancée Chapter Five

I slowly begin to open my eyes as I start waking up. A feeling of being refreshed rushes through my body. Note to self: Don’t use to much mana at one time. Well, I guess I could look at my menu.

[Parallel Thought Level Up! Parallel Thought reached Level 2!]

Wait, seriously? That’s all it took to level up Parallel Thought? Thinking two things at the same time? Well, I guess it’s pretty cool that my head now echoes. Hello! Anyone in here?!

Hey Alger, how you doing? (Alger 2)

There’re more of me now? (Alger 1)

Yup, things will definitely be harder for the author from now on. (Alger 3)

Well, at least there’s only three of us here right now. (Alger 2)

So, boss, what do you want us to work on right now? (Alger 3)

Well, can I put Alger 2 into working on putting stat points into Intelligence, Agility, or Strength with an emphasis on Agility? (Alger 1)

No problem, boss! I’ll notify you about the changes in stats so that you don’t get surprised! (Alger 2)

Thank you. Now, for Alger 3. I don’t really know what I want you to do right now, so for now you can rest. (Alger 1)

I just need to rest? How boring. (Alger 3)

Don’t worry, we’ll all take turns controlling the body so that we don’t have a Haru incident, okay? (Alger 1)

Fine, fine. Oh, boss, I put those stat points into Intelligence since that stat was really low. (Alger 2)

Ah, thanks. You can rest for now. (Alger 1)

Alright, good. Now that we got that settled, let’s look at the Menu. Menu.

Name: Alger Salas

Age: 15

Title: Hero

Stats: Str. 20, Agi. 30, Def. 10, Wis. 10, Int. 10, Luk. 0, Chr. 0

HP: 300

MP: 200

Yup, everything checks out. Looks like I can trust Alger 2 to do his job.

Knock, knock, knock.

“Come in.” I say to the person knocking on the door.

The door opens, and Adelicia walks in the room.

“You’re awake! This is great news. You were out for so long, I was really worried!”

Why do I find it hard to believe that Adelicia was acting this way? This doesn’t seem like her. But if it’s not her, then who is it?

“Who are you?” I say angrily, reaching over and grabbing my sword.

“Oh, sorry, sorry! I guess I don’t look anything like I did whenever you saw me before, do I?” The girl says.

She pulls her hood down, and I’m greeted with bright yellow hair and orange eyes.

“Soleil? What are you doing here? What if the other people who are in my party find out?”

“Don’t worry about that! I’ve got invisibility spells and teleportation spells! I can get out quickly!” She says giving me a thumbs up with a smile.

“No, I’m glad you came here, but you need to leave. Now. If the others find out that I am meeting with the Demon Queen, then I’ll be executed! Do you really want that?” I whisper to her.

“Fine, but I’ll be back later tonight to hang out, okay?” She says, pouting.

“That’s fine. Just make sure it’s in absolute secret, okay.”

“You know I will! Teleport.”

A blue light flashes and she disappears without leaving a trace.

Knock, knock, knock.

“Who is it?” I ask to the person on the other side of the door.

“It’s Lorelei!”

“Come in!”

The door opens and this time Lorelei enters the room.

“I’m glad you’re doing better. I hope this is a lesson to not overuse your mana again, got it?”

“Yes, I understand. I’ll try not to do that again.”

“Good. Now that we’ve got that settled, we should probably head to the inn’s lobby to get some breakfast. The others are already waiting for us down there.”

That’s right. I never got to eat before I passed out. I wonder what this world’s food tastes like? Walking out of the room, Lorelei is saying something, but I’m too caught up in imagining what the food will taste like to actually make a conversation.

My back is killing me, too. I guess they rented a cheap in because it was so short notice whenever I passed out. Those beds were not very good. I didn’t even have time to look at the room, either. Oh, we’re already in the inn’s lobby.

“Hey, welcome!” The woman at the front of the store says to me happily. “You’re the kid who was dragged in here passed out, right?”

I wish you wouldn’t remember me that way. It’s embarrassing.

“Yeah, that was me. Ha ha ha.”

I try to fake a laugh, but it just kills the mood instead.

“Well, you want some breakfast stew? It’s fresh made you know!”

“Sure, I’ll take some of that.”

Oh, I guess I should use this chance to work on leveling up appraisal. Let’s see.

[Name: Innkeeper’s Wife]

[Age: 33]

[Level: 8]

Hey, author, why is everyone but the important character’s names just his or her jobs? You really need to work on that. Also, even though appraisal leveled up, it only added people’s age. Well, I guess appraisal is worth it in the long run.

“Here’s your stew, kid.”

“Ah, thanks.”

I take the stew in my hands and walk over to where the other three girls are already seated. Let’s not focus on making conversation, but instead on eating. I haven’t eaten anything in over twelve hours, so I’m really hungry.

I look down at the stew, and it has what looks to be potatoes and meat. This should be good! I take the wooden spoon, and scoop up a large scoop of potatoes and meat, and put it in my mouth. It’s so good! This might just be one of the best things I’ve ever eaten.

Ah, tears are starting to flow from my eyes.

“What’s the matter?” Odelina asks me, concerned about my crying.

“Nothing, it’s just that this is so good!”

Previous Chapter|ToC|Next Chapter

Leave a comment