The Demon Queen is My Fiancée Chapter Two

Now where do I go? I’m in front of the palace, and all I see are buildings. This really is the capitol city, isn’t it? I see, large, fancy mansions in the distance and nearby, and near the edge of towns, I see the slums.

“Where are you wanting to go?” Lorelei asks from behind me.

Ah! Oh, I forgot she was behind me with this stunning view.

“Hmm. I’m thinking about maybe an adventurer’s guild.”

Yeah, because that cliché isn’t done enough. What makes me think that there will even be an adventurer’s guild?

“Oh, that’s nearby!” Odelina says, happily raising her hand.

“That’s… really convenient. Why do you know where that is?” I say, looking to Odelina.

“Because I’m a rank A adventurer!”

Oh, rank A! That’s pretty high ranking! I wonder how long it took her to get to that level.

“Well, please show me the way. I would like to register as part of the adventurer’s guild before the king finds me again. I don’t want to stay locked up in that palace just training all day anyways.”

Why does she act like such a little kid though? It doesn’t feel right. She is around the age of twenty, so why is she acting like this? Well, that’s not really important now, just kind of annoying.

We walk away from the palace into a large street filled with people walking around. Ah, people are troublesome. I know how to deal with them, I just don’t like it, though it can be fun to mess with people like the king.

The people are standing around stalls with vendors in them. I wonder what I’m… Ah! What is this amazing smell! It smells like food full of grease and oil! It reminds me of fast food! No good, my mouth is starting to water, I really want this food. I need to stay strong and sign up with the adventurer’s guild. After that is when I can buy those delicious smelling foods.

Struggling to move on, I continue to follow Odelina. As we get closer, I can’t help but notice the amount of inns near the guildhall. There must be a lot of adventurers that stay in this town.

Ah, we’ve arrived. I wonder what waits for me inside this guild. Is it going to be filled with bad people, will there be fights inside? I can’t wait!

“Alright, welcome to the adventurer’s guild! Home of adventure!” Odelina says as she opens the door.

Walking inside, I see nothing of what I expected. Yeah, you have your typical tough guys with giant axes on their backs that they shouldn’t be able to carry, or the mages wearing witches hats, but there are no fights. In fact, it seems really civilized.

Dropping my shoulders in disappointment I say, “This is not what I expected at all.”

Ah, there’s a cute girl behind the counter. She seems to be around Adelicia’s age. That brown hair makes her bright blue eyes pop.

“Welcome! Oh, it’s you Odelina!” She says with a smile.

“Yeah, I’ve come back. I have someone who would like to join the guild.”

“Oh, really? Yup, it’s this guy right here!”

Pointing her fingers at me, she motions me to walk forward.

“Hello, I’d like to join the guild.” I say to the girl.

Let’s use appraisal and see what level she’s at.

[Name: Guild Receptionist 1]

[Level: 58]

Hey, author! You need to give people other than the important characters names you know! Furthermore, she’s level 58! I guess it makes sense since she would be needed to stop fights, but she’s even higher level than the royal guards!

[Skill Level Up! Appraisal has leveled up to Level 2!]

Well, I guess something good came out of that. I was wondering why Appraisal hadn’t leveled up yet. Actually, it seems a little fast now that I think about it. I only appraised six people at most.

“That’s fine, you just need to fill out these papers here. Along with a sign up fee of one silver coin.”

One silver coin? That sounds expensive. Well, I should have a decent amount of money, so I can probably pay it. Let’s focus on filling these papers out first.

Oh! I can actually understand this nation’s alphabet! This is an amazing language comprehension skill! I’m so happy I don’t have to learn the language!

Back on track, let’s fill out this form.

Name: Adolf Salas

Hometown: Phoenix, Arizona. Sorry, Soleil, your race was the only thing I could think of whenever making up a hometown

Age: 15

Is that really it? That makes things convenient.

“I’m done filling out the form.”

“Okay, all that’s left is for you to pay the joining fee, and then get your strength gaged.”

Alright, let’s just see how much money the king gave me.

Pulling the pouch from out of my pocket I see… twenty gold coins.

King, I know I’m new to this world, but even I can tell that this is way too much money for one months living! How extravagantly do you live?!

Previous Chapter|ToC|Next Chapter

Leave a comment