The Demon Queen is My Fiancée Prologue Part One

Huh? Where am I? Everything is so bright.

“Oh, you finally woke up!” A voice calls out cheerfully. My eyes finish adjusting and I see a middle-aged man looking towards me. He seems like he’s in perfect health, but somehow I don’t like him. It must be his Ancient Greek chiton.

“What do you mean you don’t like me?! What’s wrong with my clothes?!” The man cries out in anger.

“What are you doing peeping in on someone’s thoughts?! How did you even know what I was thinking anyways?” I say, leaning forward in anger.

“ ’Cus I’m a god you know.”

“What are you even talking about? There’s no way you’re a god.”

“What are with those doubtful eyes? I’m a real bonafide god, Ewdis the God of Life!” Ewdis says pounding his fist firmly on his chest.

“Okay, fine. Let’s say you are a god. Why did you bring me here?”

“Funny story about that actually. You were kind of summoned by the king of a kingdom, but I intercepted you before you were teleported there!” He says, putting on a spurious smile.

“Yeah, not so funny. So, why was I chosen to be summoned?”

Ah, not good. I can feel my face getting angry for no reason. I thought I broke out of this habit already.

“Well, to put it simply, it’s because of your age.”

“What? Something as simple as that? It could’ve been anyone of my age right?”

“Yeah, pretty much. The summoning spell searches out people with a high capacity to learn around the age of fifteen so that they have a majority of their life to learn how to fight. Don’t know why it chose you. I guess you could say it’s similar to winning the lottery from your world.”

“I see. Well then, what do I have to do, Mr. False God?”

“You still don’t believe me huh? Well, whatever. The king is going to ask you to defeat the Demon King.”

“That stereotype is pretty cliché and overdone to death at this point, right?”

“I agree, but that’s not the point. The king is going to tell you that you are the only hero that he has summoned and point you to train and attack the Demon King, but I don’t want you to do that.”

Confused, I ask, “Why wouldn’t you want me to fight the Demon King?”

“She hasn’t really done anything wrong. She isn’t really a Demon either; she’s just the ruler of her country. Also, the thing about being the first hero is a lie as well. That guy has summoned so many heroes at this point it would make Rumooku Kingdom jealous.”

“I see. So, what do you want me to do then?”

“I want you to make sure that there is peace in both those countries. They don’t know it, but they aren’t the only countries in that world, there are other continents that they haven’t found. Those continents will be their downfall if they start to fight a war now.”

“How am I supposed to keep the peace? I’m only fifteen and I don’t have any special powers.”

“Don’t worry about that, I have a plan all set up for you. The first thing that you should know is that I will gift you with many powers, but these powers have limits. You are supposed to represent Humanities strongest, but even humanity has limits.”

“Why give me a power cap if I’m supposed to be humanities strongest and protect the world? What if something stronger than me comes and kills me?”

“That’s a very good point. Huh. I never really thought that that would happen, so I didn’t plan for that. Okay, scratch that, your powers won’t have limits.”

Yes! I talked him into it! Now my powers don’t have any limits I can get as strong as I want.

“I heard what you thought, but I’ll let it slide this time.”

“Sorry.”

“Well, that doesn’t matter. I’ll just make it so that it’s difficult to get stronger, but more rewarding. Oh! How about you level up like an RPG!”

“No, please stop using so many tropes.”

“No, no, no. This will be great. I’ll even make it so that you can choose where to throw in your stat points from leveling up! It’ll even affect the way you think and everything! You’ll start out with 70 skill points for each attribute.”

“I don’t want to become Jee-Han.”

“Oh, you’re no fun. Along with that you’re going to need some skills, so how about I give you fifty skill points to start out with to unlock any skills you want! You can also unlock skills by preforming certain actions or leveling up while in different classes.”

“Nai wa~”

“The lowest skills will cost only five skill points, but aren’t that useful, while the more useful skills will cost tens of thousands of skill points. Each level up you gain 100 skill points so use them wisely.”

“Who said I agree to this?!”

“To pull up your Menu, just think menu in your mind.”

“You’re not listening to me anymore, are you? Ah, whatever.”

Menu. Oh, he’s right, there is a menu here. Okay let’s see, player stats.

“Hey, it says I already have a skill. All attribute compatibility.”

“Oh, that’s the Hero only skill. It allows you to be compatible with any magic attribute.”

That’s nice. Let’s see, stat points. What should I put them in? Being balanced at the start is probably a good idea, but I should probably put a bit more into agility. Yeah, let’s go for an assassin build.

“Assassin build, huh. That might be good if you’re going to be alone, but is it all that great if you’re with a group?”

Oh, that’s true. I’m probably going to be with a group right? Should I build more on strength? Or would being a magician be better? Nah, let’s go with assassin still. Alright, let’s put thirty points into Agility. I only have forty skill points left. Let’s put ten into defense, ten into wisdom, (We all know how necessary that is,) and twenty into strength.

Aside from that, I have skills to unlock. Let’s see. Oh, there’s appraisal at… Only five skill points. Oi, it’s appraisal-sama you know! This should be worth at least one hundred skill points! Whatever, it’s nice that it’s so cheap. Oh, there’s parallel thought. It’s forty-five points. That would bring me down to an even zero. What other skills are there?

“Is there an Immortality skill?”

“Hm? Oh yeah there is. It’s not the most expensive one, that being invulnerability, but it still is stupidly expensive. It should cost around one hundred thousand skill points. You’d have to reach level one thousand to get it. If you’re wondering how much Invulnerability costs, it cost five hundred thousand skill points. I don’t think you’ll be able to get those, but if you are, I’d be thoroughly impressed.”

I see. Invulnerability is certainly more powerful than invulnerability, but immortality would allow you to live forever to gain enough experience to gain invulnerability. These might be worthy investments later down the line.

Well for now, I’ll invest in parallel thought. That will come in handy later, I’m sure.

“So, are you going to tell me what this plan of yours is?”

“Oh, yeah. Well, it’s pretty simple, nothing to complicated. All you need to do is make a name for yourself as the Hero of the Kingdom of Sadron, the kingdom summoning you. Once you’ve done that, you go to the Demon King and propose to her.”

“Wait. What? Did you say propose to her? Won’t that get me labeled as a traitor and turncoat even if I am the hero?”

“Hopefully not. Even if it does, if you aren’t dead, then the king can’t summon another hero to go and kill you two because you’re still alive. There can only be one hero after all. The goal in this is to show that the Demon King isn’t a bad person at all.

“If you make a name for yourself, people will trust you as the savior of humanity. If after building this trust in the people, you go and marry the Demon King, they will probably think that you truly believe her to be a good person.”

“That or think I got brainwashed.”

“That could happen too.”

A long silence breaks out between the two of us.

“Well, even if that happens and war breaks out, you still have the two most powerful people on the continent to fight with. Nothing could really stand in your way.”

“There’s also another problem. What if I don’t want to marry the Demon King? What if the Demon King doesn’t want to marry me?”

“Don’t worry about her consent. She already gave it whenever I contacted her while you were here asleep. She’s gone two thousand years without being married you know. She wants to have some children.”

“I see. Well, here’s the biggest problem in your plan. I don’t want to marry the Demon King!”

“That is a major chink in the chains, isn’t it? Well, how about this. If you marry the Demon King, I’ll gift you both immortality as a wedding gift. It’s only a marriage in name anyways, but she seriously wants kids. She is the last of her race after all.”

“Immortality for both of us as a wedding gift, huh. That doesn’t sound so bad, but I still don’t like the idea of marrying someone I don’t know, even if the marriage is just in name.”

“Oh, that’s no problem. I can just bring her up here for you to meet her. Just give me a sec.”

With that, Ewdis disappeared into thin air. Oh, yeah. Wasn’t I being summoned or something?

 

Previous Chapter|ToC|Next Chapter

 

 

Leave a comment