Getcha Skills Chapter 11

A/N: Here’s the new chapter! Longer than last times. This should be the first of what is hopefully 2+ chapters coming out today!


“Welcome!” Says the woman behind the counter. Her ears are pointed, and she’s wearing the same green uniform as the kid from moments ago. Her hair is a bright blonde nearing yellow and her eyes are a brilliant blue. Her chest is fairly large, though that’s probably being emphasized by her leaning over the counter a bit.

“Hello. I’m here to join the Guild and to sell some materials I got from killing some Goblins.” I say to the woman.

“Anything for a cutie like you. Just give me a moment to get the paperwork.”

With a wink, she walks away from the counter and into a room right behind where she previously was.

Hmm. That kid was right. She definitely is taking good care of me. Compliments are always nice.

“Wipe that smirk off your face.” Isobelle says.

“Not getting jealous, are you?” I ask.

“Why would I be jealous? The contract will stop anything from happening between you two.”

“Is that so…”

The woman came back fairly quickly, now holding a couple sheets of paper in her hands. From a distance, I could already tell that this paper looked fairly rough, nothing like the paper from Earth or like what was seen in Father-in-law’s home. It had a slight yellow tinge to it which only made me wonder how it was made.

“Here you go. Just fill these out, take a preliminary test, and you’re in!” The woman, probably Elanil, says happily.

“A preliminary test?” I ask.

“Yup. Just gotta do a mock fight with the guild master to determine what rank you should be.” She says with a smirk. “I’m sure you’ll pass, no problem for someone as handsome as you.”

“You really lay it on thick, don’t you?” I say with a chuckle as I begin to fill out the paperwork. I take up the quill pen that was right next to the paper and dip it into the ink well. It was a bit awkward to handle at first, but I got the hang of it pretty quickly.

The letters on the paper seemed foreign, but I was able to understand what all of them were. I could even write them. They seemed like they were Russian, but I don’t know much about that language. The letters seemed to transform into the English alphabet as I read them, but then changed back into what they were before my eyes glossed over the characters. It’s hurting my brain to try to figure out why this is happening so I’m just going to try to get used to it.

The form was fairly simple, just asking for things like name, age, date of birth, etc. Though, there were some areas I had to fake, like hometown, country of origin, etc.

I pass Elanil the form and take a look at the second sheet of paper, but quickly stop reading it. The top of the paper reads: MARRIAGE REGISTRATION FORM.

“Hey, Elanil,” I say with a tired, slightly angry expression, “Just what do you think you’re doing, handing me this?” My forehead finds its way into the space between my index finger and thumb as I hold up the sheet of paper towards her.

I look back up to see her giggling a bit, before quickly trying to hide it.

“What? You not interested?” She says with a fake frown.

“Of course not!” I exclaim.

Her shoulders droop for a moment before I heard her say, “Am I not pretty enough?”

Is that seriously all that the men in this world look for when marrying? Looks? I mean, looks are nice and all, but personality is important too! I heard her giggling a bit. This girl…

“Look, I filled out my form, so just tell me where I need to go to take the preliminary test.”

“Oh, sure!” She says happily. She walks out a side door and joins us, leading us where we need to go.

“What’s her problem?” Isobelle scoffs.

“It’s not like I’m the MC of a harem series.” I say with a chuckle.

“A what?” Emelisse asks.

“Nothing.”

Elanil continues to guide us as we walk in silence to… somewhere. I don’t actually know where we’re going. The halls all have tall roofs, nearly 15 feet tall. We quickly come to a stop in front of a large wooden door that goes up all the way to the ceiling. Elanil knocks on the door, and is quickly answered.

“What is it?” A deep, booming voice asks.

“We have someone who would like to register to the guild.” Elanil replies loudly.

“Oh? Guess that means I get a bit of practice today.” The voice says happily.

The large door opens, and inside is what can only be described as a giant. The giant is wearing the same green uniform as the other guild staff, except obviously made specifically for him. He wears a large badge on his left shoulder that reads “Guild Master”.

Th-This guy’s the Guild Master I have to fight against?! I’m going to get creamed!

“N-Nice to meet you. I’m Byron.” I say, using all my power to not tremble in my boots.

“A merchant’s son, eh? Won’t be much of a practice session, will it? I can already tell what rank you are just by looking at you. F Rank.” The giant says. “I guess I don’t have to fight anymore, so I’ll just—“

“Sir,” Elanil says with an angry grin, “You are required by the rules to fight to determine the rank of the person wishing to join. You made this rule yourself, don’t break it, or I’ll break you.”

A cold sweat breaks out on both the giant’s and my foreheads.

Scary! She seriously scares me! Wh-Why do I suddenly feel relieved that I only have to fight the giant and not Elanil?!

“Al-Alright, Elanil. I fight this guy.” The giant says, taking out a blue hand towel from his pocket like a handkerchief and wiping his forehead. “C’mon kid, let’s go to the stage.”

We followed the giant for about ten minutes before finally heading to where we needed to be, a large arena. The floor, instead of wood, is made of stone. The walls are lined with all different kinds of weapons made of wood.

“Well, kid, pick a weapon you like and meet me in the circle.”

I walk up to the wall to take a look at all the different kinds of weapons. There’s all different kinds of swords, from a spatha to scimitars. There are different types of blunt force weapons as well, such as a mace or club. However, I was surprised to see daggers, sickles, scythes, bow staffs, etc. on the wall as well. I saw a parrying dagger to a hunting knife, and all of it was made of wood.

This must have taken a long time to make all of these weapons from scratch. The woodworker must’ve had a lot of free time, because there’s nearly 200 different weapons available for use on the wall.

“They look really good, right?” The giant says, still standing in the arena. “It took me 10 years to make ‘em all, but I’m glad I did it.”

“You made all of these?” Emelisse asks.

“That I did.” He says with a smile. “Started working on it after I became guild master. Wanted a more accurate way to judge peoples ranks than just starting them out at rank F. I’ve had more than a couple people get C or B rank instantly thanks to this fight, though none of them were as unfit as that kid over there. Those were some pretty good fights.”

While he is reminiscing on his fights from the past with Emelisse, I continue to look for a good weapon to use against him.

He’s pretty tall, so I might be able to use slow speed against him, but that’s only if he’s like giants that I’ve seen who are slow. He may be proportionately fast and I won’t be able to outrun him. He wasn’t slow when walking in the hallways. If he was slow, I would be able to take advantage of that by using a large sword to deal the most damage, even though those take time to swing.

But, maybe something fast would be better. I could take advantage of speed better if I had a light and speedy weapon, so maybe a scythe, dagger, or bow staff would be better. I walk over towards those weapons before my eyes are drawn towards one type of weapon.

Sickles.

Maybe I could try dual-wielding sickles. They’re light and allow me to put in multiple attacks quickly, maybe even more if I’m dual-wielding. They have slightly more reach than a dagger, but less reach than a scythe, which is basically the same thing except slower and has a longer handle, and a bow staff, which has no blade at all.

I take the two sickles off the wall and walk over to the large arena, hiding one in my left arm sleeve.

“Ohh! The sickle! Been quite some time since I’ve seen someone fight with one a them. How long’s it been, nearly 15 years?” The giant says happily. “I hope you can put up as good a fight as she did.”

“I wouldn’t get your hopes up, but I’ll at least try to give you a run for your money, like a good main character.” I say with a smirk.

“Main what?” The giant says.

“It’s nothing.”

“Well then, shall we begin?”

“Of course, count us down, Elanil.”

“Ready? Fight!”


A/N: And cliffhanger! Hopefully I will be able to pump out the next chapter and get it up on the same day. Anyways, if you like this series, please comment what you like about it. Feedback is always appreciated.

Previous Chapter|ToC|Next Chapter

Leave a comment