Getcha Skills Chapter Ten

A/N: A day late, but I still got it out! I’ve been busy lately, but I’ll try to make up for the missed chapter last week next week. Please leave a comment about your thoughts on the series. I’m curious to know what my readers think about it. In any case, enjoy the next chapter!

“If you want to go to the Adventurer’s Guild, you should probably change out of… whatever it is you’re wearing.” Isobelle says while gazing up and down at my clothes. The gaze is piercing and awkward.

“Yeah, I guess I don’t want to stand out too much.” I rub the back of my head, chuckling a little. “Just choose whatever as long as it’s light. It is steaming here.”

“Is it really that hot out?” Isobelle asks, looking towards Lesia and Emelisse. They shook their heads in unison.

“Doesn’t matter. Lesia, just get me something light to wear.”

“Yes, Sir!” Lesia says cheerfully, running out of the room.

Lesia closed the door, and Isobelle instantly began to ask questions.

“So, what was your old world like?”

“What do you mean, ‘old world’? I have every intention to go back. That old king might have liked this world, and that is just fine, but me, I don’t want to stay here. I have a family there, and I don’t want them to worry about me.”

“I-I see.”

A long silence swept the room until Lesia came back. In her hand is a fancy blue outfit that is something that is clearly only worn by upperclass men.

“I thought I said something that wouldn’t make me stand out.”

“Just try them on.” Isobelle says.

“Fine, fine.” I say, taking the clothes and walking towards the closet.

“Umm, you’ll probably need help putting it on.” Emelisse says worriedly.

“I’d rather put it on myself.” I say, entering the closet.

After closing the door to the closet, I take off all the clothes I’m wearing except my underwear and put them into [Inventory]. I attempt to put on the new clothes before realizing that it’s too dark in this closet to be able to tell which way the clothes should be facing.

This is a problem. I was able to get my other clothes on because they had identifiers for which way they had to be facing, like the tag inside the collar on a shirt and the zipper on shorts and pants. These fancy clothes, although it might be better to call them robes, don’t have anything like that. I’ve never seen anyone wear them except for (Former) Viscount Theodore, so I don’t know how they’re supposed to look when worn. I wonder if [Inventory] has a solution to this. I know MMORPG’s often have a menu where you equip armor and costumes, so maybe [Inventory] has this, too. This world seems to be similar to an MMORPG, though it could be more akin to large open world RPG’s.

I open up the [Status] in my mind, looking for something that would indicate armor worn. I don’t see anything that would allow me to equip any armor. I think [Equip] and another screen pops up.

{Please choose an item to equip.

Costume: Fancy Noble Robes

Armor: [Gauntlets: None

Chest-piece: None

Legs: None

Shoes: None]}

I guess this is a way to do a quick equip instead of physically putting things on. I equip the “Fancy Noble Robes” as the [Status] calls it, and the robes disappear from my hand and onto my body. The robes are actually quite comfortable. They’re pretty loose, allowing for some movement, and they’re made of silk. The sleeves go down to my wrists, and the pant leggings go down to my ankles. I guess I must have been a similar size to (Former) Viscount Theodore because these clothes fit perfectly. The neckline is a little high, but it’s bearable and doesn’t annoy me.

I open up the closet door and exit the closet once more. Isobelle’s eyes light up with surprise upon seeing me.

“You look wonderful!” She says, walking over towards me.

“Thank you.”

“So, how do you like these, Sir?” Emelisse asks from afar.

“Hmm. They’re comfortable and allow for mobility, however they seem like they will stand out a bit too much.”

“Well, those are clothes that were meant for a rich merchant, so it makes sense that they would stand out.” Emelisse says.

“True. They don’t look as extravagant as something Father would wear, but it still holds a feeling of power.”

How do clothes hold a feeling of power? These girls are really putting a lot of thought into this, aren’t they? I guess I should honor that by wearing these out today, shouldn’t I?

“Well,” I say, walking towards the door to the hall, “I guess I could wear this for today.” I don’t really like these robes all that much, even though they are comfortable. The feeling of wearing them just feels a bit too loose, I guess. But, since they liked it so much, I can’t really say no, can I?

“Okay! Let’s get going for today!” Isobelle says happily.


The day had already nearly reached noon by the time we made it to the Adventurers Guild. The heat had only gotten worse since this morning, and it really made me happy to be wearing these robes.

The Adventurers Guild is directly in the center of town so that it is easy to find for those coming from different villages, towns, or cities, or so I’m told. The Guild building is a very large three story building that seems to be larger than the size of a small warehouse. The building is bustling with people going in and out, and there are many wearing sets of armor made of leather, iron, bronze, and other things that I don’t recognize.

Th-This is terrifying! Those are real swords! Those are used to kill things, you know! I don’t think I wan’t to go in there anymore.

I slowly turn around to begin walking away, and, in the corner of my eye, I see a man in a hood flash behind a street corner.

A-Are we already being targeted by someone?!

I feel my palms begin to get clammy and sweaty as my heart begins to race.

“H-Hey, guys. I think we’re being followed.” I say, reaching out for Isobelle’s shoulder.

“Oh, that’s probably just people protecting us from the shadows. They think I don’t notice them, but I always do. Don’t mind them, they won’t hurt you or anything like that.” She says, brushing my hand away.

This girl. She really just brushed me away whenever I was terrified?! Though, I didn’t have anything to worry about, that’s not the point!

“Glad to know it’s only good people stalking me.” I mutter under my breath.

“In any case, let’s go in.” Emelisse says.

I push open the large doors made of what seems to be oak, and walk in the building. The inside is large and spacious with tables set out in rows making the place seem more like a cafeteria than a place to get a job. The floors are made of wood planks and the walls are made of oak.

My eyes are so wide that even I notice, and I begin to look for an employee. I look around and notice that almost everyone’s eyes are on Isobelle and I. I’m stunned in fear for a moment before a young employee, around the age of 14 or so, walks by.

They employee is male, wearing a green outfit and no armor. He has red hair, something I didn’t expect to see just yet, and bright green eyes.

“Excuse me,” I say to the boy.

“Huh?” He says, looking over at me with a sharp glare. “Whaddya want, ya jackal?” His voice ripples out with anger, making me feel a bit agitated. He takes a quick look at my clothes, and immediately begins to change his attitude.

“Oh, um… Sorry about that, sir.” The boy says, a small bead of sweat forming on his forehead. “Thought you were someone else. What do you need?”

“I just wanted to know where I could join.” I say, agitation seeping out through my words.

“Oh, just head over to the first open window on the back of the wall. Elanil should be there, and she’ll get ya taken care of fast.” He says, pointing towards and area that appears to be reception.

“Thanks.” I say brusquely before walking towards where the boy said to go. For some reason, that kid ticks me off.

Previous Chapter|ToC|Next Chapter

Leave a comment